Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT System Review

Conclusion

Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT System Review

Conclusion

There are loads of things to like about the Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT.

As always when looking at a prebuilt system you're making compromises between price and performance. As anyone who has spent some time browsing potential purchases, there are a few things that can ramp the price up to ridiculous levels. If it's utilising cutting edge hardware, if it's water cooled in any way and if it's got a factory overclock. We find all of these in the Achilles Infinity GT, and yet the price is still only £1900. Sure it's not 'cheap' but it's exceptional value for money and such high-end parts would usually have a price deeply past the two grand mark.

The second element is compromising parts. Companies always want to give you as little as possible elsewhere, whilst retaining a couple of marquee hardware choices that look good in the advertising. This absolutely isn't the case with this Cyberpower system either. Everything from the choice of power supply and case, to the processor, GPU, RAM, storage and cooling are items we'd probably choose ourselves if we were looking to build a system.

The GTX780 is relatively cool and certainly quiet, so although it's retaining the air-cooler rather than a full watercooled arrangement, the savings on a larger radiator and GPU waterblock are worth having. The Haswell i7-4770K CPU is pretty toasty and by using a combination of XSPC parts and a great radiator certainly keeps it much cooler than we saw with the H100i on our bench rig. The D3H is a great value motherboard and we obtained the same maximum overclock that we see from the Infinity Achilles GT, even though we have an Engineering Sample CPU which usually go a little further. The Corsair Vengeance RAM has amazing bandwidth and that really showed up in a few of our tests.

Speaking of performance, there is no doubt that you'll be smiling constantly. With the backing of the excellent Samsung 840 SSD everything loads snappily, and once it's loaded the 4.6GHz i7-4770K and GTX780 combination perform as eye-poppingly well as you would expect the current cutting edge parts to do. Even the harsh Crysis 3 and Unigine tests were buttery smooth.

All of that would be meaningless, or at least you'd have your enthusiasm dampened, if the build quality wasn't up to snuff. As it is the Infinity Achilles GT comes in probably the most protective packaging we've ever seen. Inside the box is all the sundries and manuals that come with the components. You even get the blanking plates from the case. Once you've got it out of the box and removed the air-bags that keep everything stable in transit then you can see the care that has been taken by Cyberpower in routing the cables, choosing harmonious components and generally giving you a system that you're proud to show off. Throughout all of our time with the Infinity Achilles GT we only thought of one area we'd change and that's to swap the motherboard from the Gigabyte D3H to the Sniper M5. Solely because it's around the same price but the green colour scheme of the board would accentuate the rest of the green lighting and parts.

All in all this is a tremendous system that gives you the very latest hardware at an extremely competitive price. With a big overclock, great cooling and outstanding build quality backed up by a three year warranty and great technical support it would be a great choice for anyone who has neither the time or the inclination to build their own system. You aren't even paying much of a premium over self-building, and the plethora of customisation options mean that if there is something you don't want then it can be changed.

The Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT is a serious statement of intent and if you want a hardcore gaming machine at a very affordable price then you should unquestionably take a long hard look at one. All the latest hardware with none of the self-build faffing about, a definite winner of our OC3D Gold Award.

      

Thanks to Cyberpower for supplying the Infinity Achilles GT for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2013, 06:34:57

tinytomlogan
Water cooled 4770K, a GTX780 all prebuilt and overclocked. We take a look at the Cyberpower Infinity Achilles GT system.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...124018274l.JPG



Continue Reading

17-06-2013, 07:44:24

SPS
For that price I am surprised to see a CX series PSU and a non-pro edition of the Samsung 840.

17-06-2013, 07:52:43

SeekaX
not a fan of the colors. not at all.

17-06-2013, 08:01:20

Greenback
The price isn't to bad for a prebuilt just did a comparison getting stuff from aria and an Xspc rs240 750 kit and it only works out about 114 cheaper doing it your self. So a well deserved gold for cyberpower, and a good write up Bryan

17-06-2013, 09:16:34

Initialised
Cyberpower have something like 3 million combinations of hardware so if you want different coloured fans, a different case, modular PSU, a different SSD just change it.

17-06-2013, 09:34:07

AMDFTW
beasty

17-06-2013, 11:47:06

seumasbeathan
Would have been nice to see an AX series psu, but for the money and the fact that is is a pre-built system, this thoroughly deserves the Gold.

17-06-2013, 13:34:14

VonBlade
I agree that for the extra 20 you'd be better off going with the faster write speeds of the Samsung Pro. The CX/AX debate is less important. If you're building yourself then the AX has plenty of benefits in ease of build, but the CX is more than enough for this system at half the price.

As we all know from speccing our own systems that you can always get a little better for a little more, but before you know it you've added 200 to the bill. You have to draw the line somewhere and I'm not convinced that a AX would have a noticeable benefit. Certainly the fan of the CX never span up under heavy loading which is realistically the only thing that matters giving that we're barely using half it's capacity.

Glad you enjoyed the review.

17-06-2013, 15:08:07

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
I agree that for the extra 20 you'd be better off going with the faster write speeds of the Samsung Pro. The CX/AX debate is less important. If you're building yourself then the AX has plenty of benefits in ease of build, but the CX is more than enough for this system at half the price.

As we all know from speccing our own systems that you can always get a little better for a little more, but before you know it you've added 200 to the bill. You have to draw the line somewhere and I'm not convinced that a AX would have a noticeable benefit. Certainly the fan of the CX never span up under heavy loading which is realistically the only thing that matters giving that we're barely using half it's capacity.

Glad you enjoyed the review.
I'd say that CX and AX are both sides of the scale tbh, AX is generally overkill but we enthusiasts love them. I was thinking a HX or even a TX, or maybe another brand.

But yeah good review nonetheless VB

18-06-2013, 02:09:14

Chuckers
Damn those Haswell chips are hot, even with custom loops.

Nice write up, I don't like the colour scheme and I think the fun of having water cooling is doing it yourself to match a theme so this sort of build isn't something I'd consider but fair play to Cyberpower for doing it properly.

As for the use of the Corsair CX PSU, it would be good to see one of the better quality units in there but CX 750w isn't a bad choice at all so that's fair enough.

Seeing all those air bags takes me back, the first and only pre-built I bought was from Cyberpower and I had great fun scaring my family by jumping on the air bags to make them pop

01-07-2013, 07:43:41

trigg89
Nice review! although I am a bit confused why they did heaven @ 8XAA? Bit of a weird one as most comparisons are with it maxed out @ 16

01-07-2013, 08:10:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by trigg89 View Post
Nice review! although I am a bit confused why they did heaven @ 8XAA? Bit of a weird one as most comparisons are with it maxed out @ 16
Heaven only goes to 8

01-07-2013, 09:18:10

trigg89
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Heaven only goes to 8
ah fair sorry was looking at anisotrophy settings.

In that case how is the 780 getting nearly 80 fps? My 780 OC'd at 1227mhz boost & mem at just under 7000mhz effective, with a 2700k@5ghz + 16 gb DDR3@1886mhz gets 62 fps? Also every vid/other review i have seen online i have seen gets around the 60's too. This with everything maxed @1080.

How is it 20 fps higher?

Is it done with unigine heaven 4.0? I am sure i am missing a trick here but just cant figure it out XD
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.