'

Sony plans to host a Horizon Forbidden West State of Play this Thursday

The broadcast will showcase 14 minutes of gameplay footage

Sony plans to host a Horizon Forbidden West State of Play this Thursday

Sony plans to host a Horizon Forbidden West State of Play this Thursday

Horizon Zero Dawn is getting a sequel later this year, and it will take centre stage at Sony's next State of Play event. This Thursday, at 10 pm BST (UK Time), Sony and Guerrilla Games plan to discuss Horizon Forbidden West in detail. 

At this week's State of Play event, Sony plans to showcase 11 minutes of new Horizon Forbidden West gameplay, all of which will be captures on PlayStation 5. Horizon: Forbidden West will be coming to both PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5, with a release date that has been scheduled for late 2021. 

Given Horizon Zero Dawn's success on PC, it is likely that Forbidden West will also be coming to PC. That said, it is probable that Sony will make the game exclusive to their hardware platforms for a limited time. Sony has made no announcements regarding Horizon Forbidden West on PC, but the success of Zero Dawn on PC sets a clear precedent. 

With Sony's Forbidden West coming to PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5, gamers can expect Forbidden West to be less technologically impressive than PlayStation 5 exclusives like Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart. That is the cost of cross-generation game compatibility. That said, Forbidden West is due to feature significant graphical upgrades on PlayStation 5, with support for 4K (possibly upscaled) 60 FPS gameplay being likely. 

    Nearly eleven months ago we showed you the very first glimpse of Horizon Forbidden West during the PlayStation 5 Showcase, and now we’re excited to show more! This Thursday, May 27 join us on a very special journey into new and uncharted lands.

Starting at 9AM Pacific Time / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST, please tune in at your leisure for a uniquely crafted countdown towards the main State of Play event, which starts at 2PM Pacific Time / 10PM BST / 11PM CEST.

During this State of Play, we will debut the Horizon Forbidden West gameplay reveal! In this 20-minute exclusive segment, you’ll be seeing about 14 minutes of brand new in-game action featuring our heroic protagonist Aloy, all captured directly on PlayStation 5.

This reveal has been a true team effort and we’re very excited to show you what we have in store. Whether you’ve been with us and Aloy since Horizon Zero Dawn or are only just getting to know this incredible world, we want to share this huge milestone with you and cannot wait to see your favorite moments and reactions.

Please join us on Twitch or YouTube at 9AM PDT / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST for the special State of Play Pre-Show, and at 2PM PDT / 10PM BST / 11PM CEST for the Horizon Forbidden West gameplay reveal.

 

Sony plans to host a Horizon Forbidden West State of Play this Thursday


You can join the discussion on Horizon Forbidden West's upcoming State of Play event on the OC3D Forums


Sony plans to host a Horizon Forbidden West State of Play this Thursday

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.