Don’t expect major announcements from Valve at the PC Gaming Show

Valve's SteamPal console will reportedly be powered by a custom AMD/Radeon APU

Don’t expect major announcements from Valve at the PC Gaming Show

E3’s PC Gaming Show will be hosted on Sunday, June 13th, at 10:30 PM BST, 2:30 PM PST, and 5:30 PM EST. Here, PC Gamer stated that there would be “a message from Valve regarding Steam Next Fest” at the event, sparking rampant speculation within the gaming press. 

Some outlets have run with the “a message from Valve regarding Steam” quote from PC Game, suggesting that Valve may reveal a major Steam overhaul, Half-Life 3, or their rumoured SteamPal console at the event. These rumours are nonsense, as Valve’s full quote states that the company will be talking about “Steam Next Fest” and nothing else. 

Steam Next Fest is Valve’s rebranded Steam Game Festival, a multi-day celebration of upcoming games where Valve will be hosting hundreds of PC game demos on Steam, presenting developer live streams, and more. Valve has not signalled that they are planning to reveal new hardware at E3’s PC Gaming Show.

You can read more about Valve’s Steam Next Fest here. 

 Don't expect major announcements from Valve at the PC Gaming Show

While we would love to see new hardware and software from Valve at E3, we feel that this needless speculation around this “message from Valve regarding Steam” misquote is too much. 

We would love to see Valve release Half-Life 3, Portal 3, Left 4 Dead 3 and all of the other potential 3s, but Valve has not signalled any plans for any imminent game announcements. 

Valve's SteamPal console will reportedly be powered by a custom AMD/Radeon APU

 
You can join the discussion on Valve’s lack of a major Steam announcement at the PC Gaming Show on the OC3D Forums. 

Don't expect major announcements from Valve at the PC Gaming Show