DimasTech Bench Table

Introduction

 
Introduction
 Logo
For a while now there has been a hole in the case market. This hole was the need for chassis that accommodate open systems, allowing the end user to easily swap out  major components while keeping the rest neat and tidy - one that could play a host to every kind of cooling one could think of. And on top of that, one that could look damn good.
 
Well the legend that is Dimas has stepped up and made an attempt to fill this gap with the case that's under the spotlight today here at OC3D, the appropriately named Dimas Bench Table Easy V2.
 
 So without further a-do, let's take a quick gander at the specifications of the case which were taken from Chilled PC's product page:
 
• Bench Desk realised in Metal sheet of 1,5mm
• CNC Laser Cuts
• Powder or liquid Coating
• Totally " Made in Italy"
• Compatibility with motherboard ATX and Full ATX and MicroATX installation until 3 peripheral 5,25 inches (like DVD reader, fan bus,ecc..)
• Installation until 3 Hard disks (3,5 inches) and floppy reader, or 4 hard disks without floppy reader
• Special ventilation for the RAM zone via special support for a 92x92mm fan
• Support for ventilation in the socket zone via 80x80 o 120x120 fans
• Support for ventilation in the front VGA card zone via 80x80 o 120x120 fans
• Two buttons for Power Switch and reset
• Holes on the front and rear of the motherboard to allow the passages of cables and liquid cooling tube
• PSU supports,compatibility with Power supplies up to 22cm
• Lateral holes for the installation of a Triple, Double or Single fan radiator (Thermochill compatible)
• Rear space for installation of a compact liquid cooling system
• Thumbscrews thread M3 e 6-32
• Support for ventilation up to Video Cards,single or SLI/crossFire via 120x120mm fan
 
 
Packaging & Package
 
The Bench table arrived in a rather large double thickness, plain white cardboard box. The box had a simple address label printed out from Chilled PC with the both the recipients & senders addresses marked on it.
 
Box Open_Box
 
Upon opening the box you are presented with a sea of polystyrene. Buried somewhere under that lot is your case, and It left me wondering if i was going to need a shovel. The contents were well protected against the brutal hands of todays couriers and it was nice to see the protection wasn't massively over the top.
 
Internal_components Screws
 
Enlisting the help of a few smaller cardboard boxes I went digging through the artificial snow to recover the parts of the case. First to be removed were the blue internals (for want of a better word). These comprised of the mount for the 5.25" & 3.5" drives, the PSU bay, a myriad of fan mounts and a pump/res mount. Also included was a slightly random sheet of foam that had no immediately obvious purpose. All the nuts, bolts and washers were held in a little, tightly packed plastic bag.
 
Tray_&_Outer
 
Tray Outer
 
Once the middle was removed, along with yet more polystyrene, we got to the two main pieces of the case. The outer shell was shrouded in bubble wrap to give it that extra protected edge, while the bottom tray sat inside it. I continued to rummage through the polystyrene in hope of finding an instruction manual of some description, but alas there wasn't one to be found. This proved to be quite a hinderance, which will be further illustrated over the page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-11-2008, 14:58:54

Ham
Fed up to tower cases cramping your style? Or just find them too much hassle because your swapping parts out ever other day? Today we take a look at the Dimas Bench Table, which could just be the answer to a lot of enthusiast's prayers.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161426830s.jpg

Review

11-11-2008, 16:11:27

Mullet
Nice review there bud! Very versatile workstation for the enthusiast! Liking the pre-cut radiator panels and the colour combination also makes it look pretty distinctive.

11-11-2008, 17:05:44

Rastalovich
Tremendous review Ham, for an awesome piece of kit from my pov. (mess with things too much)

130... hmm, I think u judged it about right - it's not too expensive, and it's not exactly cheap, although it seems alot. But it's professional enough for u to make an excuse to buy it, cos if u seek one u usually have a reason or purpose. In that sense u can view it as an investment.

Construction is good, probably more finished than I imagined. Generally I would have thought less-flash (flash probably wrong word) and more practical-emphasis, but it does make it more appealing to the masses I would think. (to explain, I'd be happy with a plain silver-metallic )

Very versatile as expected.

I've always looked at these and wondered why they don't do a lid that u can just lift off, no screws, perhaps a catch to stop any vibration. I know in alot of respects it defeats the majority of the reasons why u would buy 1. But I think here of like in my case I'd buy 4 perhaps and whilst messing with one, the others mainly stay enclosed (with fan inlet vents and a cable hole).

Great stuff.

EDIT: With those great OC3D colors, they might think of providing 1 each to the regular reviewers on here I'm sure they'd get a fair share of promotion from it. Oh and lovely pink tubing m8

11-11-2008, 17:26:33

JN
These bench tables are simply a godsend. I went out and purchased mine a few months back - before we got the offer fo a review one, and it just makes everything so much easier.

one thing I've done on mine tho is swapped the motherboard standoff's for large rubber feet (so I dont need to have a screwdriver handy when doing a mobo swapout).

11-11-2008, 17:33:00

Rastalovich
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.

11-11-2008, 17:39:10

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.
The only problem with a totally flat mat is that the graphics card/pci card blanking plates poke out a bit behind the motherboard, so you need to elivate the motherboard by about 15mm or you end up with a GPU half hanging out of the slot .

Grippy mat would be a good idea if you could strategically line the pci card blanking plates up with some of the holes in the case tho.

12-11-2008, 09:22:36

Jaster
Nice review, could do with one of these for our testing station.

One thing though, over in Taiwan we've seen case builder kits becoming very popular. Basically all components housing, hard drive racks, 5 1/4 inch bays, motherboard trays, of various styles and descriptions that basically latch on into any configuration you wish, kind of like a "meccanno" style case solution. This option is cheap, highly customizable and would suit the user better. I know its not mainstay in the UK, but when its mentioned on bbc's click program it made me wonder how long before we see these meccanno kits start popping up at the retailers. Just a thought. Check iclick out here Click 24 th Oct

12-11-2008, 11:49:31

AydST
been looking at these for a while.

Did have one test rig that was about 70 and you'd have been better off with a cardboard box, more hassle that it was worth, so 130 based on previous experience is well worth the money
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.