Ubisoft Clarifies – No accounts with purchases will be deleted due to inactivity

Ubisoft Clarifies - No accounts with purchases will be deleted due to inactivity

Ubisoft can delete inactive Connect accounts, but only if you have not purchased anything

Earlier this week, PC gamers reported online that Ubisoft were closing inactive Ubisoft Connect (formerly Uplay) accounts if they were found to be inactive, alleging that affected users would lose all of their purchased games and DLC forever. Ubisoft has confirmed that while they do delete inactive accounts, they do not close accounts that have purchased PC games.

For users who face account closures, Ubisoft sends users an email that warns users about their inactivity. In this email, users are given 30 days to log into their account to avoid its deletion. 

When asked about the deletion of user accounts, Ubisoft has stated that their account deletion process is aligned with the company’s legal requirements. Specifically, this deletion process is to comply with the EU’s GDPR data protection rules.

Ubisoft has confirmed that accounts can only be deleted if specific criteria are met, one of which prevents accounts with purchased games from being deleted. So no, Ubisoft will not take away your purchases if you have an inactive account. Ubisoft’s account deletion criteria are listed below. 

– The account needs to be inactive for a prolonged period of time since its creation

– Accounts that include purchased PC games are not eligible for deletion

– Logins for Ubisoft games outside of Uplay/Ubisoft Connect (like on Steam or the Epic Games Store) count as activity

– If an account has an active subscription, it is not eligible for deletion

Ubisoft Clarifies - No accounts with purchases will be deleted due to inactivity

Ubisoft has also revealed that they have not deleted any accounts that have been inactive for less than four years, and that users with inactive accounts are warned about their accounts impending deletion. Affected gamers are given 30 days to restore their accounts, and these users are given automated warnings through email that will allow them to prevent their accounts deletion.

If you are worried about Ubisoft deleting your Connect account, don’t be. If you own any games on Ubisoft’s PC client, the company cannot delete your account.

You can join the discussion on Ubisoft’s stance on account deletion on the OC3D Forums.