Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Introduction

If you're an OC3D frequent flyer you'll have noticed we've been reviewing an increasing number of Small form factor (SFF) cases of late.  The particularly attentive amongst you will also have noticed we're featuring ever more capable and feature rich M-ITX motherboards.  Now factor in the impending approach of the Steam OS and the projection that a proportion of PC based gaming will move from the bedroom to the living room and thus necessitate the building or purchase of ready made Steam-Boxes and you'll start to see how all this hangs together.  Deciding which technology is in the driving seat here is a bit of a chicken and egg situation and is largely irrelevant, either way we the consumers are benefitting from this little (ahem) arms race.

Of course SFF cases are nothing new to the chaps at Silverstone, they've been making some very stylish and very high quality SFF cases for years and so are somewhat Past Masters.  Not being a company to rest on its laurels though they've set about bringing the Raven styling to an SFF box which at only 105mm high will nestle nicely beneath a TV.  Oh, and did we mention that despite its diminutive stature the RVZ01 is still able to take 13" long GPUs?  As you might imagine, to accomplish this Silverstone have had to be pretty clever with the internals

 

Technical specification 

 Material Steel with Plastic
 Colour Black
 Dimensions 382x105x350mm (WxHxD)
 Motherboard Support M-ITX, DTX
 Internal Storage 1x3.5", 3x2.5"
 External Storage 1xslim ODD
 PCI slots 2
 Front I/O 2xUSB3.0 Audio In/Out
 Cooling

 Top:    1 x slim 120mm 1500rpm 18db(A)

 Base:  1 x slim 120mm 1500rpm 18db(A)

           1 x slim 120mm optional

 PSU SFX
 Max GPU dimensions Max length 13", Max height 5.88"
 Max CPU cooler Height 83mm

 

Features


- Supports graphics cards up to 33cm
- Mini-ITX motherboard, power supply SFX-enabled
- Maximum performance in slim form factor with support for liquid cooling
- Pressure design for excellent cooling, low noise and preventing dust formation
- Fits in nearly any environment with horizontal or vertical orientation

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-03-2014, 04:28:19

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading

03-03-2014, 05:36:15

barnsley
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.

03-03-2014, 05:46:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.
Do a proper job then......

03-03-2014, 05:57:25

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Do a proper job then......
Just waiting for the motherboard to arrive as it was out of stock when it was ordered (gg scan). The same for the short cable set. I'm going to build it at the weekend as its at a mate's.

03-03-2014, 10:38:05

Feronix
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...

03-03-2014, 10:38:37

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...
Make a steambox!

03-03-2014, 10:41:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Make a steambox!
Truth is that I don't really need a Steambox as my monitor has a TV tuner built-in and I have an Xbox controller for Windows adaptor so if I want, I can sit on my bed (which is conveniently placed against a wall to which I have attached a black baby matress, turning my bed into a couch).

Long story short, for me it would just be €400-500 wasted which is a lot for a student. Still want to downsize my main rig to a Phenom though... Or the RVZ01, hmmm...

Phenom would be cooler/quieter and look better though. Not going to put custom braided cables and mods on the inside of a case where a window makes no sense.

03-03-2014, 11:23:09

Conchubair
beenn following this case for ages now, wanting to replace the family pc with one. Its similar in size to a x360 too.

My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.

03-03-2014, 11:34:28

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conchubair View Post
My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg

03-03-2014, 11:56:59

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.

03-03-2014, 11:57:43

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.
Yep. The silverstone model always costs more I think though.

03-03-2014, 12:01:45

Conchubair

03-03-2014, 12:13:43

cooperman
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
It looks like the CD player off my sony stack system i had about fifteen years ago

26-03-2014, 01:22:07

captainzombie
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks

26-03-2014, 03:09:49

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainzombie View Post
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks
Asking him to do a case review after a written review was already done is pointless.. he does not do request because he has no time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.